TARDIS Was Tardy Last Week!

It was suppose to premiere on BBC-America at 9 but, because of where I live it would be 10.  I waited with enthusiasm but, my eyes rolled back, and my eyes shut for the final time that night.  I was asleep.

The Doctor premiered on BBC-America, and I was asleep but, the dvr had done its’ job.  Early Sunday morning, I watched the season premiere episode, The Magician’s Apprentice.

Without writing a formal review, I will kind of chronicle my reaction to the new season’s beginning of Doctor Who.

This is one of those episodes where you get a cutaway to the past to begin, and then,  a cut to the present.  A little bit of time invested, and the cutaway is explained through the next few minutes of the story line.  It all ties up in to a bundle of relevancy.  Even a first time viewer would be able to gather some understanding of one of several Doctor Who  underlying story lines.

The ‘Magician’s Apprentice’ kept my attention from beginning to cliffhanger.

I was glad to see Missy return, and we get a whole new perspective of Missy as a ‘friend’ of the Doctor.

One of the most evil characters who thinks nothing of killing others reveals to Clara how close of a friendship she enjoys with the Doctor.  Even Clara may not be as close friend to the Doctor as Missy, according to Missy’s explanation to Clara.

So, will we get more of the Master as vulnerable?  Perhaps just misunderstood?  Missy as  a ‘Good-Evil’ character or, is Missy playing around with Clara?

Oh, and by the way.  Clara was killed, and the TARDIS destroyed.  Other than that, all’s good.

But wait!  There’s more to this than I may think.  After all, the scene shifts at the end to the ‘Hand-Mine Fields’ and where we began this episode with the Doctor on those fields with the boy, Davros.

Knowing now what the Doctor knows, does he sacrifice one of the universal Time Lord laws by, altering the past, and  attempting to change the future?   Has the Doctor reached the breaking point?

It all begins Saturday night, an hour after BBC-America says it does because of where I live.

